Home POLITICS CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC: President Faustin Archange Touadera re-elected

CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC: President Faustin Archange Touadera re-elected

President Faustin Archange Touadera

Outgoing President Faustin Archange Touadera, favourite of the Central African elections on 27 December 2020, was finally re-elected in the first round of the election with 53.97% according to the results of the Central African Electoral Commission announced on Monday, 4 January 2021.

Faustin Archange Touadera is now the new president of the Central African Republic. An election of which he had gone favourites with a voter turnout of 76.31%. A rate confirmed by the Electoral Commission which, however, does not reflect the reality according to many foreign observers. 

President Faustin Archange Touadéra, who was running for his own succession, is 63 years old. He had 53.92% of the vote against 21.01% for his main challenger, former Prime Minister Anicet Georges Dologuélé, followed by 14 other opposition candidates.

This election, widely contested by the Central African opposition, took place in a rather tense context where armed groups threatened to sabotage the elections and march on Bangui the capital. But with the support of the Russian and Rwandan forces supported by the UN peacekeepers, the vote was held in a peaceful manner, especially in the capital.  But in other parts of the country, thousands of voters have not been able to express themselves because of the threat of armed groups and the delay in the distribution of voter cards and the opening of certain polling stations. The unfortunate second-ranked candidate, Anicet Georges Dologuélé, described the election as a “farce”.  

À voir aussi  IVORY COAST - “He told me that if I left power, I would not be prosecuted,” says Laurent Gbagbo

It is now up to the Constitutional Court to definitively validate these results. If this trend is confirmed by the Constitutional Court, Faustin Archange Touadéra will seek a second term as head of the Central African Republic after his first election in 2016.The official results are expected on 19 January 2021.


Leave a Reply